13th Conference on Reversible Computation


RC 2021

Registration deadline: 

Sunday, February 21, 2021

Submission deadline: 

Sunday, February 14, 2021


Wednesday, July 7, 2021 to Tuesday, September 7, 2021



Reversible computation has a growing number of promising application areas such as low power design, coding/decoding, debugging, testing and verification, database recovery, discrete event simulation, reversible algorithms, reversible specification formalisms, reversible programming languages, process algebras, and the modelling of biochemical systems. Furthermore, reversible logic provides a basis for quantum computation with its applications, for example, in cryptography and in the development of highly efficient algorithms. First reversible circuits and quantum circuits have been implemented and are seen as promising alternatives to conventional CMOS technology.

The conference will bring together researchers from computer science, mathematics, and physics to discuss new developments and directions for future research in Reversible Computation. This includes applications of reversibility in quantum computation. Research papers, tutorials, tool demonstrations, and work-in-progress reports are within the scope of the conference. Invited talks by leading international experts will complete the program. Contributions on the following topics in Reversible Computation are welcome:

Contributions on all areas of Reversible Computation are welcome, including—but not limited to—the following topics:

  • Applications
  • Architectures
  • Algorithms
  • Bidirectional transformations
  • Circuit Design
  • Debugging
  • Fault Tolerance and Error Correction
  • Hardware
  • Information Theory
  • Physical Realizations
  • Programming Languages
  • Quantum Computation
  • Software
  • Synthesis
  • Theoretical Results
  • Testing
  • Verification

===== Important Dates =====

  • Abstract Submission: Sun, February 14th, 2021
  • Submission Deadline: Sun, February 21st, 2021
  • Notification to Authors: Sat, March 27th, 2021
  • Final Version: Sat, April 17th, 2021
  • Conference: Wed-Fri, July 7th-9th, 2021 (Wed-Thu, July 7th-8th, 2021, if online)

===== Invited speakers =====


===== Paper submission =====

Interested researchers are invited to submit

  • full research papers (16 pages maximum),
  • tutorials (16 pages maximum), as well as
  • work-in-progress or tool demonstration papers (6 pages maximum)

in Springer LNCS format. Additional material intended for reviewers but not for publication in the final version—for example, details of proofs—may be placed in a clearly marked appendix that is not included in the page limit. Reviewers are at liberty to ignore appendices and papers must be understandable without them. Contributions must be written in English and report on original, unpublished work, not submitted for publication elsewhere. Submissions not adhering to the specified constraints may be rejected without review. Each paper will undergo a peer review of at least 3 anonymous reviewers. All accepted papers will be included in the conference proceedings. Papers can be submitted electronically in PDF via the RC 2021 interface of the EasyChair system:


===== Organizers =====

  • General Chair

Shoji Yuen, Nagoya University, Japan

  • Program co-chairs

Shigeru Yamashita, Ritsumeikan University, Japan

Tetsuo Yokoyama, Nanzan University, Japan

===== Program Committee =====

  • Gerhard Dueck (University of New Brunswic, Canada)
  • Michael P. Frank (Sandia National Laboratories, US)
  • Robert Glück (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Eva Graversen (Imperial College London, UK)
  • James Hoey (University of Leicester, UK)
  • Jarkko Kari (University of Turku, Finland)
  • Jean Krivine (CNRS, France)
  • Ivan Lanese (University of Bologna/INRIA, Italy)
  • Martin Lukac (Nazarbayev University, Kazakhstan)
  • Claudio Antares Mezzina (Università di Urbino, Italy)
  • Claudio Moraga (TU Dortmund University, Germany)
  • Keisuke Nakano (Tohoku University, Japan)
  • Luca Paolini (Universita degli Studi di Torino, Italy)
  • Krzysztof Podlaski (University of Lodz, Poland)
  • Mariusz Rawski (Warsaw University of Technology, Poland)
  • Markus Schordan (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, US)
  • Mathias Soeken (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Milena Stankovic (University of Nis, Serbia)
  • Himanshu Thapliyal (University of Kentucky, US)
  • Michael Kirkedal Thomsen (University of Copenhagen, Denmark)
  • Irek Ulidowski (University of Leicester, UK)
  • Rodney Van Meter (Keio University, Japan)
  • Robert Wille (Johannes Kepler University Linz, Austria)