Okinawa School in Physics: Coherent Quantum Dynamics


CQD 2020

Registration deadline: 

Sunday, May 31, 2020

Submission deadline: 

Sunday, May 31, 2020


Monday, September 28, 2020 to Friday, October 9, 2020



OIST Seaside House
26° 28' 31.5552" N, 127° 50' 1.6872" E

The study of quantum coherent dynamics is currently one of the most active and exciting areas in physics. It holds the promise for the development of new technologies (quantum computing, quantum metrology,...) and, at the same time, has already delivered insights into the foundations of quantum mechanics. Its fast moving pace and new approach has attracted many young researchers and summer schools - at which leading experts share their knowledge and directly interact with the participants - have become an integral part of the community.

The school will consist of lectures delivered by Japanese and international experts on the fundamentals of the area. This will be supplemented by accessible presentations (colloquia) on cutting-edge research problems. All participants should present a poster based on their current research.

Registration fee 10,000JPY. Payment method will be informed later. The costs for meals and accommodation (in twin-shared rooms at Seaside House) will be covered for all participants by OIST.

About 10% of international applicants will be given full travel support. This is fully reserved for those applicants from disadvantaged regions of the world. If you are not from a disadvantaged region, please do not apply for this. We can offer a travel bursary of 50% flight support to most other applicants, but please provide justification for this bursary.

Hans Bachor, Australian National University, Australia (L)

Mikhail (Misha) Baranov, IQOQI Innsbruck, Austria (L)

Steven Girvin, Yale University, USA (L)

Martina Knoop, University of Aix Marseille, France (L)

Ping Koy Lam, Australian National University, Australia (L)

Dieter Meschede, University of Bonn, Germany (L)

Giovanna Morigi, Saarland University, Germany (L)

Masayuki Ohzeki, Tohoku University, Japan (C)

Seiji Sugawa, Institute for Molecular Science, Japan (C)

Shuntaro Takeda, The University of Tokyo, Japan (C) T

Jelena Vučković, Stanford University, USA (L)

Atsushi Yamaguchi, RIKEN, Japan (C)

L: Lectures
C: Colloquium