8th Workshop on Quantum Physics and Logic


QPL 2011

Submission deadline: 

Friday, August 26, 2011

This event will bring together researchers working on mathematical foundations of quantum physics, quantum computing and information, and spatio-temporal causal structures, and in particular those that use logical tools, ordered algebraic and category-theoretic structures, formal languages, semantical methods and other computer science methods for the study physical behaviour in general. Over the past few years, there has been growing activity in these foundational approaches, together with a renewed interest in the foundations of quantum theory, which complement the more mainstream research in quantum computation.

== Invited Speakers ==

* Hans Maassen (Nijmegen)
* Urs Schreiber (Utrecht)
* Rob Spekkens (Perimeter Institute)

== Deadlines ==

* Submission: Aug 27
* Notification of authors: Sep 20
* Corrected papers due: Oct 13

== Submission ==

Prospective speakers are invited to submit a 5-12 page extended abstract that provides sufficient evidence of results of genuine interest and provides sufficient detail to allows the program committee to assess the merits of the work. Submissions of works in progress are encouraged but must be more substantial than a research proposal. Submissions should be prepared using LaTeX, and must be submitted in PDF format at http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=qpl11

== Proceedings ==

Extended versions of accepted talks will be published in Electronic Proceedings in Theoretical Computer Science (EPTCS) after the workshop.

== Program committee ==

* Thorsten Altenkirch (Nottingham)
* John Baez (UC Riverside and CQT Singapore)
* Dan Browne (UCL - London)
* Bob Coecke (Oxford)
* Giulio Chiribella (Perimeter Institute)
* Andreas Döring (Oxford)
* Simon Gay (University of Glasgow)
* Bart Jacobs (Nijmegen, co-chair)
* Klaas Landsman (Nijmegen)
* Prakash Panangaden (McGill)
* Simon Perdrix (CNRS - Grenoble)
* Mehrnoosh Sadrzadeh (Oxford)
* Peter Selinger (Dalhousie, co-chair)
* Bas Spitters (Nijmegen)

== Local organizers ==

* Bart Jacobs (Nijmegen)
* Bas Spitters (Nijmegen)

== Steering committee ==

* Bob Coecke (Oxford)
* Prakash Panangaden (McGill)
* Peter Selinger (Dalhousie)

== Previous meetings ==

Previous QPL workshops were held in Ottawa (2003), Turku (2004), Chicago (2005), Oxford (2006), Reykjavik (2008), Oxford (2009), Oxford (2010).

== Websites ==

* http://qpl.science.ru.nl/ (Workshop Homepage)
* http://www.easychair.org/conferences/?conf=qpl11 (Submission)

== Contact ==

For more information, please contact Bart Jacobs and Peter Selinger at qpl11 (at) easychair.org.