Quantum Simulation and Computation



Registration deadline: 

Thursday, August 1, 2019

Submission deadline: 

Saturday, June 1, 2019



Cantoblanco Univ. Campus

Dear Colleagues,

We are glad to announce an international workshop on "Quantum Simulation and Computation” to be held in ICMAT-CSIC, Cantoblanco Univ. Campus, Madrid, 14-18 October 2019.

The Quantum Simulation and Computation 2019 is the seventh iteration of a conference series that started in Benasque in 2011.
The conference deals with the short, mid- and long-term goals and applications of quantum simulators and quantum computers, with a strong focus on current and upcoming technologies and state-of-the-art algorithmic developments.

Important questions that motivate the conference are:
a) The utility of NISQ simulators and computers for short-term practical applications, both in fundamental science and industry.
b) The implementation and scalability of simulators and computers in different quantum platforms: cold atoms, trapped ions, superconducting circuits, quantum photonics, quantum dots…
c) Advances in quantum software, from new algorithms with provable quantum advantages, to quantum-inspired classical methods.

We will discuss these and other topics together with leading figures in experiments and theory, who will showcase the state-of-the-art in the field and provide us with an outlook for the near- and long-term future.

website: https://qsc2019.hbar.es

General information

In addition of the invited talks, there will be room for both contributed talks and posters, as well as a round table.
You can submit contributions through the webpage of the conference.

The conference fee of 150€ will cover general expenses and a conference dinner, and will be paid by all participants.
Accommodation and meals will be handled by the participants.


• March 2019, call for papers
• June 2019, announcement of acceptance of contributions and registration
• August 2019, closing of general registration

Invited speakers

• Alberto Amo (CNRS)
• Sergio Boixo (Google)
• Fernando Brandao (Caltech)
• Pol Forn-Díaz (BSC/ICN2)
• Jonathan Home (ETHZ)
• Lev Ioffe (Rutgers)
• Lucas Lamata (UPV/EHU)
• Maciej Lewenstein (ICFO)
• M. A. Martín-Delgado (UCM)
• John Martinis (Google)
• Cristiane de Morais (Utreht Univ.)
• Kristan Temme (IBM)
• Lieven Vandersypen (QuTech)
• Andreas Wallraff (ETHZ)
• Frank Wilhelm-Mauch (Saarland Univ.)
...more to be confirmed

We look forward to meeting you in Madrid.
Best regards,

Local organisers
David Pérez-García (ICMAT & UCM), Juan José García Ripoll (IFF-CSIC), Enrique Rico (UPV-EHU & Ikerbasque), Germán Sierra (IFT-CSIC)

Scientific committee
Ignacio Cirac (MPQ), Barbara Kraus (Univ. Innsbruck), Jose Ignacio Latorre (UB), Enrique Solano (UPV/EHU & Shanghai Univ.), Leticia Tarruell (ICFO)