Vienna Center for Quantum Science and Technology

Short name: 

VCQ, University of Vienna

Research type: 


The "Vienna Center for Quantum Science and Technology" is a joint initiative of the University of Vienna, the Vienna University of Technology, and the Austrian Academy of Sciences, which unites quantum physicists of Vienna's research institutions in one collaborative center. The VCQ covers fundamental quantum physics and novel quantum technologies.

The research groups comprise
Arndt Group:Quantum Nanophysics and Molecular Quantum Optics
Aspelmeyer Group: Quantum Foundations and Quantum Information on the Nano- and Microscale
Brukner Group: Quantum foundations and quantum information theory
Verstraete Group: Many-Body Quantum Theory
Walther Group: Quantum information sciences and quantum computation

Rabl Group: Quantum Optics Theory
Rauschenbeutel Group: Nano-Fiber Photonics and Quantum Optics
Schmiedmayer Group: Cold Atoms and Atom Chips
Schumm Group: Quantum-enhanced measurement and metrology

IQOQI VIENNA, Austrian Academy of SCIENCES
Ursin Group: Quantum Physics and Quantum Communication
Zeilinger Group: Quantum Information and Foundations of Physics