Isabelle Walters


authenticated user

Reason for registering

In 2016, the Erwin-Schrödinger Center for Quantum Science and Technology (ESQ) was launched by the Austrian Academy of Sciences as a national Austrian programme. ESQ is financed by the Ministry of Education, Science and Research (BMBWF) and is run in close collaboration with the three ESQ partners, the University of Vienna, the Technische Universität Wien and the University of Innsbruck. Within a European Marie Skłodowska-Curie COFUND program starting in spring 2018, ESQ serves as a hub for a competitive but attractive postdoc fellowship programme, dedicated to excellence in quantum research, and providing the full breadth of EU benefits to international research fellows in Austria. These include • EU compliant employment standards, including salaries and endowments, fellow selection, career development and secondment opportunities • Enhanced international visibility through integration into Austrian quantum research groups with wide network of international collaborations • A wide field of research options ESQ currently unites about 300 scientists in 27 groups, four institutions in two Austrian cities. They are working at the forefront of research and development around ultra-cold atoms, degenerate quantum gases, cold molecules, trapped ions, theoretical and experimental quantum computing, quantum simulation, quantum communication with photons, atoms, ions or superconductors, matter-wave physics with cold atoms, clusters and biomolecules. Research comprises quantum physics at the interface to biology, optomechanics with suspended cantilevers and isolated nanoparticles, experimental and theoretical complex many body physics, the physics of nuclear clocks, experimental tests and theoretical explorations of the foundations of physics. ESQ groups may employ postdocs from atomic and molecular physics, quantum optics and laser science, condensed matter research, chemistry, mathematics and philosophy.